Places to Visit

 

We are very privileged to be living in an area steeped in tradition and history, with three World Heritage sites within an easy driving distance (Stonehenge, Avebury and Bath). We have many delightful towns and villages to explore, country houses, museums and gardens to visit and plenty of traditional pubs and excellent restaurants.  We have a quick rail link to London from Pewsey Station less than five minutes drive away and you could plan a day/evening out in London to enjoy the sites and take in a theatre.  Oxford, Salisbury and Bath are also within a reasonable drive away and offer good shopping, restaurants, theatres and interesting places to visit.

There are musical events too which take place in local pubs, churches and village halls. In July, Marlborough holds its famous International Jazz Festival over three days – a glut of musicians and singers, new bands and old favourites from all over the world, really an experience not to miss. There are other nearby venues for musical events such as Westonbirt Arboretum where, for example, Will Young, Madness and Alphie Boe played in June and July this year, Highclere Castle (location of the BBC’s ‘Downton Abbey’) which has summer picnic concerts and fireworks displays. Local artists open their studios over four weekends in July and there are always local village fetes to be enjoyed throughout most of the summer. There really is something for everyone to enjoy in this part of the world.  Listed below are a few websites you may like to view to give you a few ideas.

Ancient sites

Avebury www.nationaltrust.org.uk/avebury
Silbury Hill www.english-heritage.org.uk/daysout/properties/silbury-hill
Stonehenge www.english-heritage.org.uk/daysout/properties/stonehenge
Roman Baths in Bath www.romanbaths.co.uk
Cheddar Caves and Gorge www.cheddarcaves.co.uk

Museums

Steam Museum of the Great Western Railway www.steam-museum.org.uk
Pewsey Heritage Centre www.pewsey-heritage-centre.org.uk
Wiltshire Heritage Museum in Devizes www.wiltshireheritage.org.uk
Atwell Wilson Motor Museum www.atwellwilson.org.uk

Gardens and woodlands

Larmer Tree Gardens www.larmertreegardens.co.uk
Savernake Forest www.savernakeestate.co.uk
Heale Gardens and Plant Centre www.healegarden.co.uk
Abbey House Gardens www.abbeyhousegardens.co.uk
Westonbirt, The National Arboretum www.forestry.gov.uk/westonbirt

Country houses

Ilford Manor Estate www.ifordmanor.co.uk
Lydiard House and Park www.lydiardpark.org.uk
Wilton House www.wiltonhouse.com
Braemore House www.braemorehouse.com
Lacock Abbey, Fox Talbot Museum & Village www.nationaltrust.org.uk/lacock
Blenheim Palace www.blenheimpalace.com
Stourhead House and Gardens www.nationaltrust.org.uk/main/w-stourhead

Zoos/wildlife

Longleat House and Safari Park www.longleat.co.uk
Cholderton Charlie’s Farm www.choldertoncharliesfarm.com
Hawk Conservancy Trust www.hawkconservancy.org
Cotswold Wildlife Park and Gardens www.cotswoldwildlifepark.co.uk
The Living Rainforest www.livingrainforest.org/