Activities

 

From Willlowbank’s gates we have marvellous walks without having to cross a main road.  The local lanes are so quiet you can walk and cycle with little disturbance and of course we have the famous Kennet and Avon canal within 100m of the cabins, so convenient for those kayaking enthusiasts. From Milkhouse Water bridge you can walk or cycle along the canal path to Wootton Rivers (with nice traditional village pub, The Royal Oak) and beyond towards the Savernake Forest and Hungerford or in the opposite direction to Pewsey Wharf (mooring/hiring place for lots of colourful canal boats plus a cafe and shop) and beyond to Wilcot and Devizes where the amazing Caen Locks can be found. We have our local wetlands sanctuary, Jones’s Mill, about half a mile away or walk up the lane and follow the steep footpath to the top of Martinsell Hill, one of seven iron-age hill forts surrounding the Pewsey Vale (pictured above, view from the canal) where on a clear day you can see Salisbury Cathedral’s spire and is a marvellous place for flying kites or tobogganing in the snow.

Apart from the vast network of walks and cycle ways in the Pewsey Vale, there are many activies you can take part in. In Pewsey itself, we have the local leisure centre where there is a large swimming pool, squash and badminton courts, circuits training and a running club. We have a number of very good golf courses nearby, riding, fishing, flying, clay pigeon shooting, paragliding, ballooning,  swimming, paintballing and go-karting.  There is really plenty to do for those who like an active holiday. For those who do not mind travelling a little further afield, the coast is only about an hour and a half away.  Many activites you can turn up on the day but others will require a bit of forward planning so below are a list of websites you may wish to look at to give you some ideas of how you might like to spend your time: 

For the family

Pewsey Sports Centre www.wiltshire.gov.uk/pewseysportscentre
Pewsey Vale Riding School www.pewseyvaleridingcentre.com
Coral Cove – Devizes Play and Adventure Centre www.coral-cove.co.uk
Cotswold Wildlife Park and Gardens www.cotswoldwildlifepark.co.uk
Cotswold Water Park www.waterpark.org
Go Ape www.goape.co.uk
Kennet and Avon Canal Trust www.katrust.org

Improve your handicap

Marlborough Golf Club www.marlboroughgolfclub.co.uk
Upavon Golf Club www.upavongolfclub.co.uk
Ogbourne Downs Golf Club www.ogdgc.co.uk
Bowood Golf Club www.bowood-golf.co.uk
Erlestoke Gold Club www.erlestokegolfclub.co.uk
North Wilts Golf Club www.northwiltsgolf.com
Stonehenge Golf Centre and Driving Range www.mjk.org.uk/stonehengegolfcentre

For the boy racer

Karting Nation www.karting-nation.co.uk
Castle Coombe Circuit www.castlecombecircuit.co.uk
Drive-Tech www.drivetechltd.co.uk
Team Sport Indoor Karting www.team-sport.co.uk
Gurston Down Speed Hill Climb www.gurstondown.org

Up up and away

Go Fly

www.goflyuk.com

Cameron Hot Air Ballon Flights www.cameron-flights.co.uk
ParAvion Paragliding Centre www.par-avion.co.uk
CloudBase Paragliding www.cloudbaseparagliding.com

Target practice

Lazer Quest www.lqswindon.co.uk
Combat Splat Paintball www.combatsplat.com
Experience Air Soft Combat Games www.experienceairsoft.co.uk